Job Description


The key goal of the job is to help me, a disabled woman, live independently. This means helping me with domestic assistance (e.g.  household management, cooking…), assisting with personal and health care, helping with administrative tasks (e.g. collecting receipts…), helping me finish my PhD by typing up what I dictate alongside other writer work. In addition I need help with staying mobile by accompanying me to various places (e.g. university, theatre, walks…). Furthermore, I have currently taken up the project of training a small young dog (miniature poodle cross) to become my assistance dog which will also require help and support from my personal assistants - she is very friendly and loves cuddles!

Hours:
I am currently looking to fill, full-time, part-time and ‘relief’ roles. I have a team of personal assistants that rotate following a somewhat flexible rota. Collectively the team provide 24hr/7 cover. A typical shift would be from 10:00 to 18:00 or 18:00 to 10:00 (with sleepover, bedroom for sleeping is provided). Shifts cover daytime, sleepovers and may sometimes be outside of Bath over a weekend. This is arranged on an individual availability basis.

These times may vary according to week/weekends. 

Remuneration:
Hourly rates start from: £9.00 p.h. weekday, £11.00 p.h. weekend.  Sleepover (flat rate) £40.00 weekday  and £45.00 weekend.

Requirements:

No previous experience is needed; I am looking for people with a willingness to learn.
I am mainly looking for someone that is patient and able to work on a one to one basis by applying initiative without taking control. As well as being adaptive to a range of circumstances, you should have an ability to work efficiently to tight timeframes, have good diary management skills and most importantly be sensitive to my needs, when offering personal care and health support - find out more under 'requirements' tab above

This position is only open for women (this complies with S7 (2B) of the SDA 1975).

Responsibilities:
- Household/domestic management

- Health support including visiting hospitals alongside medical support with CPAP, nebulisers etc.
- Meal preparation and management
- Academic study support and assistance
- Dog training support to enable Alia to fulfil her team role.


Location: 
The main place of work will be in the Combe Down area, where there is a regular bus service and car parking is available. Other places include the university campus and other sites will be advised. Currently we are waiting on recruitment to enable Sarah to return to university. Opportunities will arise to accompany me on visits including regular trips to London,  these will include overnight stays and holidays.

PLEASE APPLY USING THE APPLICATION FORM VIA THIS WEBSITE UNDER THE SECTION 'APPLY HERE'